2016 Award Winners

Illinois Economic Challenge State Championship

York Community High School earned First Place in the 2016 Illinois Economics Challenge State Finals, a program of Econ Illinois! The event, held April 6 at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, involved 40 high school students competing for the Championship title.

York outscored Second Place Hinsdale South High School during the final “Quiz Bowl” round of competition. The First Place team, John Fetscher, Jason Kentra, Frank Luse, Flanagan Waldherr, and teachers Tamra Carl and Jessica Weldon received a trophy and framed certificate for their school, individual medals and certificates as well as Visa gift cards. The championship event consisted of individual and team written tests and the final quiz bowl round of competition.  This year student teams were also involved with a Critical Thinking activity that required addressing an economic scenario and advising a finance sector volunteer judge on how to address the problem(s).

The York team advanced to the National Semi-Finals round of competition held as an online test on April 26 at their high school. Each 1st Place state team participates in the National Semi-finals. The top scoring AP Economics teams from only four states qualify to compete, all expenses paid, in the 2016 National Economics Challenge held in New York City May 20-23.

The Hinsdale South team pulled ahead of eight competing student teams to earn Second Place in the final round of the competition. The Second Place team, Tanner Andrulis, Holli Jones, Aidan Kelly, Joe O’Shea, and their teacher Jeff Waterman received a trophy and framed certificate for their school, individual medals and certificates as well as Visa gift cards.

1st place Homewood-Flossmoor team with Coach, Mr. Anello
2nd place St Ignatius with Coach, Mr. Owens

Illinois participants in Economics Challenge ONLINE! 2016

Teams from the following schools competed online for the 2016 Economics Challenge. The number of asterisks (*) indicate the number of teams at the school that advanced to the state finals.  All schools participating in the state event receive a certificate of recognition.

  • **Adlai E Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire. Jim Kollar, teacher.
  • Barrington High School, Barrington. Neal Ridenour, teacher.
  • Boylan Catholic High School, Rockford. Katherine Schmid, teacher.
  • Buffalo Grove High School, Buffalo Grove. Peter Duffer, teacher.
  • *Edwardsville High School, Edwardsville. Adam Koester, teacher.
  • Elk Grove High School, Elk Grove Village. Matthew Bohnenkamp, teacher.
  • Gwendolyn Brooks College Prep, Chicago. Steven Mullooly, teacher.
  • *Hinsdale South High School, Darien. Jeff Waterman, teacher.
  • Homewood-Flossmoor High School, Flossmoor. Nick Anello, teacher.
  • *Homewood-Flossmoor High School, Flossmoor. Carl Coates, teacher.
  • Hononegah Community High School, Rockton. Brad Christoff, teacher.
  • Illinois Math and Science Academy (IMSA), Aurora. Kitty Lam, teacher.
  • Lyons Township High School, LaGrange. Julie Bryar-Smith, teacher.
  • *Marian Catholic High School, Chicago Heights. Scot Becvar, teacher.
  • Naperville Central High School, Naperville. C. David Ashton, teacher.
  • Naperville North High School, Naperville. Eleanor Barbino, teacher.
  • Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville. Chris Cebrzynski, teacher.
  • Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville. Amanda Dunham, teacher.
  • Richwoods High School, Peoria. Travis Bowlby, teacher.
  • *Willowbrook High School, Villa Park. Brian Eslick, teacher.
  • *York Community High School, Elmhurst. Tamra Carl & Jessica Weldon, teachers.

The 2016 Illinois Economics Challenge (ILEC) is a program of Econ Illinois with additional support from BMO Harris Bank and in-kind support provided from the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.